HELP! GRAD SCHOOL CHANCES

ivyworm

Before I came to this forum site, I thought I was a shoe-in for graduate school. Then I started seeing posts from people with concerns that they would not get into graduate school with a 3.9 GPA and a 1310 on their GRE. I mean, are those people doing it to fish for some compliments? Do they just need further validation that they are beyond brilliant? If you ask me, they're hateful. In any case, those posts brought me a lot of unease, so i'm turning to you guys for help. WHAT ARE MY CHANCES FOR GETTING INTO A PHD PROGRAM? I graduated from the University of Miami (Rank: 45) with a 3.68 GPA. I did research for nearly two years in a Chemistry lab and am currently doing a post-bac research education program for a year at the University of Kansas in molecular biosciences. I should be getting excellent recommendation letters from both my research PI's and one from a faculty member who is very well known in the sciences. I taught chemistry labs at my school for one year and held several leadership positions in school clubs. I also worked during college and volunteered at a local children's hospital. I have not yet taken the GRE but will be in August. Pending the results of that exam, which I hope will be up to par, what are my chances of getting into a GOOD program in Cellular & Molecular Biology? The schools I WAS looking at are: Stanford University, University of Michigan, University of Chicago ,Vanderbilt, University of Alabama, University of Maryland, University of Connecticut, University of Kansas, and NYU. I know the schools are somewhat ambitious, but again, I thought I was a shoe-in for graduate school. HELP!!!!

OH, AND I'M A MINORITY (IF THAT HELPS, LOL)

Edited by jtamayo