Revised GRE Scores... Are these okay?

Paixe

So I JUST got back from taking the revised test. Honestly, I don't really understand how scoring works, even for the old system. I was hoping someone could help me interpret the potential score ranges they gave me? I don't know what's "good."

I have an English Lit bachelor's, hoping to get into a grad program in English/Editing/Publishing.

These are the scores I got at the end:

Verbal: 750-800

Quant: 550-650

I'm a really humble person who mistrusts her own successes, so I don't want to celebrate too early, but 750-800 verbal is pretty good, right?

The Quant kicked my arse, of course. And I think they pick your weakest area to give you for the wildcard section (this might not be true, but EVERYBODY says they got an extra section of whatever they feared most). I didn't even get to look at the last 3 questions of the last quant section I got...

Also, for the writing sections, I feel like I did really well. My gut reaction is that I got at least 5. But in the threads I've read people have thought they did well only to bomb it.

I can't BELIEVE I have to wait til NOVEMBER.

I don't think you need to ask whether a range of 750-800 is "good." The highest anyone can score on the either the Verbal or Quant. sections is 800, which you know, so don't ask questions like this. Regardless of whether you intended to initially (and despite whatever disclaimers of modesty you include), you end up just fishing for compliments in most users' eyes. And no one likes that. Just a tip; take it or leave it, really.