Postponing PhD to Work; Staying desirable for future programs

mmdye

I graduate in May 2011 with a Master's in cultural anthropology and my dream is to pursue my PhD, however, I did not get into the only Antho PhD program in my city. I'm married and I own a house. Therefore, I have to stay where I'm at for a couple years (hence why I only applied to the one local program).

I'm planning on applying to programs for fall 2013 but, until then, I'm working in an unrelated field to save up money. My focus in anthropology is on cyberanthropology (particularly social media) and I'm managing social media and PR at my current job. So I could tie it into my resesarch interests in a way, but my work is no way research/anthropology related. My question is, how do I stay desirable to an application committee? Will it reflect negatively on my application if I've been working full time for a couple of years in an unrelated field? Is there anything I can do on an on-going basis that will improve my chances of getting in for 2013?

Any help and/or advice you can provide would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Those are some awesome research interests! I definitely think you can tie in your current work to your research interests. Are you going to reapply to the this same school that didn't accept you? I'd say if you could afford it, take a class or two related to your interests. And as far as desirability goes...I don't think so! I've actually had several professors tell me that they actually prefer when applicants to their PhD program have been in the work force for a few years, since they tend to me more mature, motivated, and driven than those fresh out of undergrad.