Theatre Programs

girlseekingphd

I am... kind of

Yale Theater Management

Washington University in St. Louis Theater and Performance Arts

Columbia Arts Administration, with an emphasis on theater

and some other arts ed programs

what area of the theater interests you? have you visited anywhere?

finally, an ally on the board :)

Nice to meet you! I come from a very generalist theatre background, lots of acting, directing, theory and crit but I have some experience in almost every area. I'm applying for an MA/PHD program in Theatre Arts, with a focus on gender in text and performance. There are things I'm better at, than others, but honestly, theatre is my life-blood. I would sweep a stage for the rest of my existence if it meant I could be in a theatre.

Management - that's awesome. What do you really want to do with your degree? I know you probably have an answer but I personally hate that question. The next person that asks me what I'm going to with three degrees in theatre is going to hear, "I just want to be famous. I'm going to be an actress and make lots and lots of money." Because that's what everyone wants to hear.

What drew you to the programs you're applying for?

Hello again

I am going to school to focus on education and outreach programs - I started a theater company several years ago and while it was rewarding and loads of fun, it was missing strong education and outreach and felt kind of pointless. Now, I am trying to start an independent company that works with different arts organizations and connects them with schools and their communities ((bla bla bla this reminds me too much of my sop already :)) anyway, they have schools that teach you how to run arts organizations and non-profits and i would like to go to one of them :)

ps sweeping the floor lol. perhaps there is some funding in that?