Comparing apples to apples

t_ruth

I'm not in the position to do this yet, but I have a feeling if I get into multiple schools, they are all going to be relatively similar as far as ranking. I was careful about only applying to places that were good research fits, so that isn't much of an issue either. In this kind of situation, how have you all made decisions?

Things I guess I will consider:

cost of living

undergrad University reputation?

proximity to family/friends

Please add things you consider when deciding between schools and maybe your process for researching and coming to your decision...

Thanks in advance!

I wouldn't consider the undergrad reputation of the university at all. There's a thread on this somewhere from last year. But basically, your only interactions with undergrads will be when you're teaching. My grad program is a top-notch program at a school not known for its undergrad programs in anything. But people will know who I studied with if/when I go on the academic job market because the faculty in my dept are well-known and connected.

Assuming the schools are of more or less similar quality and my research interests are well supported at each school, it'll be about the city more than the school for me (assuming I am faced with this dilemma; it is very possible I will be universally rejected). I'll be choosing a large city over a small one, and a non college-town if I can. Public transport, climate, and proximity to a major international airport will be important for me.

Alternatively, I'll just go where the average rent consumes the smallest proportion of my stipend.

ridgey, Your alternative decision plan will be the exact opposite of your big city, etc. decision plan.

thanks rising_star, I'll have to search for that thread. I feel that undergrad rankings may be a bit more stable over time though...