Good sign?

girlseekingphd

I recently decided to visit my first choice school before they made their application decisions to get a better feel for the program and to try and make a really good impression. I will be flying to visit the campus next week. I scheduled a general campus tour and I contacted the graduate office in my department asking if it would be possible to receive a tour of the facility and possibly meet with a faculty member. My former undergraduate advisor and my mentor told me this was smart and showed that I was serious about their program. When I hadn't heard a reply to my email for several days, I started to worry. But I was hesitant to call and ask. SO GLAD I DID, THOUGH! The switchboard transferred me to the main line and the Graduate Studies Coordinator just happened to pick up (I didn't even tell her I was a potential grad student). I hadn't even finished my first sentence. I got out my name and he interrupted, "Oh, Elizabeth, you're applying for...etc., etc." Anyway, he knew exactly who I was without me having to remind him. He told me admissions stuff had gotten backed up but that he had a full itinerary planned for my visit next week. I get to observe a classroom, a full tour, and have lunch with a graduate student. He thanked me and told me he was glad I'd followed up.

So two things: Is this a good sign? And secondly, be encouraged to contact if you have questions! I was so surprised that anyone cared or remembered me. And this is one of the biggest universities in the country.

Well it's always a good sign if they remember your name. It means there was something in your application that stuck out with hundreds of applications the program receives. With that said, I wouldn't read too much into it. You don't know if the person remembered your name because they were just looking over your file or if they remember it because they were writing your decision letter.