2012 US MPH Program Applicants

DeeLovely79

Thought it was about time the public health section had an applicants thread. So please list

- Basic background: undergrad degree, previous masters (if any), current status (still in undergrad, returning professional), experience (public health practice or research) and anything else you deem relevant

- The school and concentrations you are applying to

- Are you still submitting or done with apps?

- (When the time comes) Interviews and acceptances

• 3 weeks later...

I'll go first! I work as a data manager for a pediatric obesity clinic after graduating with my BA in psychology last spring. Prior to graduation, I volunteered in the obesity clinic for about a year and also completed 3 years of bio research (the effects of iron deficiency on the cardiovascular system).

I decided to apply to MPH programs with a concentration in community health and education at 8 schools: U Pittsburgh, U Minnesota, U of Illinois at Chicago, SUNY at Buffalo, SUNY at Albany, Ohio State U, NYU, and CUNY's Hunter College. My applications were finished the first week of December.

So far, I've been accepted to Minnesota, and Pitt. I'm leaning heavily towards Minnesota at this point.

• 3 weeks later...

Copying and pasting a bit from a post in the government affairs subforum:

Program Applied To: Health Management and Policy (MPH and MHSA tracks; I also applied for the MPP program at the Ford School of Public Policy, because I'd like to do the joint-degree).

Schools Applied To: University of Michigan. I was offered an interview (via email) with the SPH on 12/20, that's scheduled for 1/23. :)

Undergraduate institution: University of Michigan

Undergraduate GPA: 3.35

Undergraduate Major: Brain, Behavior, and Cognitive Science. Minors in Political Science and History (American)

GRE Quantitative Score: 710 (72nd)

GRE Verbal Score: 720 (98th)

GRE AW Score: 6.0 (99th)

Years Out of Undergrad (if applicable): 0.5? I graduated last April.