technology question for those studying in religion

anthrovagabond

So, I will be an MDiv student this fall at BU, and my current netbook is almost 5 years old. Thus, I'll be upgrading to a new computer or tablet this summer. What do you use (or, if just admitted, what will you buy), or what would be more useful, for the humanities: an iPad or a laptop? If you've used both, which one do you find you use more? Pros / cons to each? (and, if you do use an iPad, how has it been for writing papers...?)

This is probably an incredibly dumb question, and I apologize in advance.

Thanks,

Anthrovagabond

First off, do not get a tablet. You simply cannot use it in many of the same ways. Writing papers on a tablet sucks (even with an external keyboard) and for how much they cost you could get a decent laptop/netbook.

What size laptop do you prefer? How much can you spend?

I'm a graduate assistant for the biology/physics profs here at BC, so I work a lot with professors picking computers, software problems, et cetera.

Definitely forget the tablet option for serious academic work. They are fun but not quite there yet as far as academic software and paper editing is concerned.

As a student in the MDiv program (BTW I got in BU's MTS) you will be studying Greek and Hebrew. You should strongly consider the expensive but incredibly useful software like Logos (Mac/PC), Accordance (Mac), and Bible Works (PC). They alll pretty much do the same thing though each has different collections, user interfaces, and overall feel to them. They are basically powerful software programs that allow you to analyze Biblical languages in great detail. You have tools like lexicons, dictionaries, bible commentaries, textbooks, maps, and more. These programs, while available for the iPad, are significantly stronger on an actual laptop.