LOR from a jaded professor...

So, next Fall is my app season, and I'm starting to stake out who exactly I want to ask for a LOR. I'm an English student, if this matters.

I have one professor that I really like, I've done very well in her class, I think I stand out from the rest of her students for various reasons, yada yada yada...I'd really like to ask her for a LOR when the time comes.

HOWEVER...

On the first day of class she came in and started complaining about how our university was hiring four new English professors and she had to sit in on a bunch of meetings. She then asked (very obviously rhetorically) if anyone in the class was looking to go to grad school. I remained silent as did the rest of my peers, because she went on to very abrasively say "Good, don't ever do it", and then went on to say something about how "terrifying" job interviews are for English professors...

So this left me feeling very downtrodden for a couple of weeks, although the rest of the semester has been going swimmingly and she hasn't mentioned anything about grad school yet except for her background - which, by the way, is my ideal situation, she's a postcolonialist who went to Duke and I just...I want to be her. :[

Anyway, is it at all smart to ask this woman for a LOR next semester, after basically being specifically told by her not to go to grad school? That little spiel at the beginning of the semester just made her seem so jaded, I'm almost afraid to approach her about it. But like I said, I feel like if she were to write me a LOR, it would be a good one...Gah.

Anyone else have any experience with "jaded" professors such as this? I have no idea what to do.

Edited by siarabird