How important is work experience?

sje

I'm planning on applying to MPH programs in epidemiology for the Fall 2013 semester. I'm finishing up my BA in biological anthropology and have taken significant coursework in biology (general bio, genomics, biostats) and mathematics ( 3 semesters of calc, linear algebra, set theory and logic) as well as all my human evolution and physical anthro courses. I have a 3.89 GPA and am getting ready to take my GREs this summer. The problem is that I have no relevant work experience in PH and I'm afraid that, if I cannot find any, my application won't even be considered. I plan on applying to 3 programs, 1 of which requires experience, 1 that prefers it, and 1 that doesn't say anything about experience on the admissions website. My question is: how important, really, is work experience, and will adcomms deny an applicant based upon his lack of experience alone?

And, as an aside, are there any courses I should take during my last semester of undergrad? I have a few spots for electives and I'd rather take courses that will help me in the long run.

Work experience is extremely important. I would find a job related to public health this summer while you're studying for the GREs. I'm Canadian and I've been accepted to some school so far. I don't have a good GPA but I have many related experience in public health. I am sure US is similar.

Even if the work is not paid, if it has something to do with PH, it's a bonus. Try volunteering at an NGO. Find internship. Join a public health research lab. Speak to your health professors. Start a school club or join a school club related to raising awareness for PH related cause.

Good luck!!!