Chances of Getting into Cornell PhD Program

Bgajdor1

If you guys could help me out or give me some advice, that'd be great. I'm applying to Cornell's PhD Program in Psychology for Fall 2013.

My current GPA is 3.82. Plan to get research experience over the Summer, which I can put on my application when I apply in Fall. Also planning to take the GREs General Test this Summer. I will also be getting more research experience this Fall 2012, and Spring of 2013. Unfortunately, the only research experience I can put on my application is for the Summer. I'll mention that I'll have more by the time I would be accepted though.

I'm currently a student at Binghamton University, which I think has a fairly good reputation. So what do you guys think my chances are of getting into this prestigious school? (PhD in Psychology, Social/Personality Focus)

No matter how awesome you are the odds of getting into any particular program are very small because there is so much randomness in the process. What if your potential advisor is on sabbatical? Or not taking students? Many programs take 1-5 students each year so with such a small sample size it's exceptionally competitive. So I can't answer your question, but I would recommend applying to more like 6-10 programs.

What lewin00 said. There's no way to tell. I have 4 years of research experience, a masters degree, publications, good GPA and GRE, and I still didn't get in anywhere. It is extremely competitive and extremely random. Apply to as many programs as you can afford and a broad range of programs. Apply to some masters programs, if you don't have a masters degree already. No one is going to realistically be able to tell you your chances of getting in to any program at this point. Sorry to be a downer, and I'm not trying to say you won't get in because there really is no way to tell.