Low confidence in the GRE test

Michaliskh

hey guys. I am a psychology student and i've just finished the B.S in Psychology. I am planning to go to the states for a ph.d in clinical but i know that its extremely difficult. I will do a gap year to gather some money and then shoot my applications in the states.

The thing that bothers me is that i know that i will not do well in the gre test. I am will sit the TOEFL in two days. I am planning to retake the GRE's later again but if my scores are not higher what do i do then?

I ws thinking to applay for a one year masters in UK to increase my chances to get accepted in the states. But WHY must the universities take so much care for the GRE if somebody's GPA is high in a degree and let say a masters? WHY must the GRE me the most important factor for a consideration into getting accepted in the states?

The weight given to the GRE seems to vary by area of study, specific school, or even by individual members of committees. I have a family friend who is a top professor in entomology, and he says when he sits on grad committees he puts virtually no weight on the GRE because he doesn't believe it's a good indicator of anything. On the other hand, to get into a top econ program you pretty much need to have a 790 or 800 on the quant section.

So in short, the GRE isn't necessarily the most important thing. Try checking with the departments you're interested in and asking how much they weigh it, and assuming English isn't your first language, whether they make some allowance for that in the verbal section. The information might be on their websites already.