Don't Want to Attend Grad School After Hearing Rumors About Me

Hi everyone! I was rejected from my alma mater (Arizona State University) for an MFA in Dramatic Writing in April, then accepted in June. Apparently I was on a wait list and didn't know. I was accepted when someone else dropped out "mainly due to financial reasons." But I have to meet with a professor who is considering me for a TA-ship. The program director and I have been emailing each other. (I took playwriting classes with him, so we know each other.) He finally admitted that the reason I didn't get accepted the first time was because as an undergraduate I changed my major and gave up funding to a conference I had been accepted to. It's a prestigious competition. I didn't know how presitigious until much later. Actually, that isn't the way it went at all. But that's the rumor, so the professors who heard about it thought I might be the type to "freak out" or be unreliable. But for some reason they are now willing to give me a chance. But I have to meet with them on Friday to answer for my sins. I think it's crazy that they would deny me acceptance based on a rumor! I don't think I want to go to a school that thinks I'm a nut. I don't feel like I'll be treated fairly. By the way, I'm 50 years old and graduated summa cum laude. Am I being too sensitive?