Should I retake my GRE for a third time?

tadams25

I'm new to forums, so if this is in the wrong sections, I apologize!

I've managed to graduate undergrad, with a Bachelor's in Psychology at age 19. My cumulative GPA was a 3.78, and I was a member of my college's National Honor's Society, Psi Chi National Honor's Society, and other various clubs on campus. I completed an internship, and also, studied abroad for a semester...

...unfortunately, the GRE attacks me. I cannot seem to perform impressively. I took the GRE when I was 18, and scored:

Verbal: 340 (18%)

Quant: 440 (16%)

Analytical: 4.0 (48%)

...YUCK! wallbash.gif

These scores have deterred me from applying to graduate schools, until I could re-take the test. I studied for a couple months, and by "study," I mean, I spent HOURS studying for WEEKS. So, I just took it again this past Wednesday, and received:

Verbal: 152 (56%)

Quant: 148 (44%)

Analytical: N/A, yet

Needless to say, even though the test has been revised, according to my percentile score, I drastically improved...? Unfortunately, my scores are STILL not impressive.

My question is, I suppose, is it worth the time and money to enroll in a class, and take the GRE for the THIRD time? Or - should I just settle with my current scores, and start applying to graduate schools. My dream is to one day obtain a PhD in Clinical Psychology, but this field is extremely competitive, and I feel like graduate schools will have a look at my GRE scores, and toss my application, without considering my academic performance. Also, I don't know if it will look bad to have three GRE scores, even if the third one improves? I intend on applying to both PhD programs and Master's programs.

Does anyone have any suggestions, experiences, information....anything? I appreciate it SO much. I am insanely passionate about my education and schooling, and I'd really like to achieve my goals. Thank you!

Edited by tadams25