Switching Programs Week 1, advice needed...

I am a grad student in Physics. However, I'm having trouble with the core classes and don't think I can graduate quickly. I also find that I'm simply not interested in the way how physics approaches problems and the problems that are interesting to physicists. They seem to be much more theoretical than I realized. Reading papers on Arxiv and listening to the researchers here talk, I feel like all of them are answering highly theoretical problems thinking in terms of models, rather than actually designing new materials, processes, devices and ultimately, products that are marketable.

I also realized I'm simply not good enough at higher math (math beyond calculus, vector calculus and differential equations) to be a successful physicist. Complex analysis, for instance, is the first subject of our math methods class and things like complex differentiability and branch cuts are already coming up. I have never seen this before, I can't even do a single problem (I tried reviewing this over the summer, and failed. I still can't do a single problem). The math is just going to get worse when we move to tensors and Greens functions. This is nothing like the math methods class I had in undergrad which was built on the science/engineering math core and involved stuff like integral (Fourier and Laplace) transforms, ODEs and PDEs.

Instead, I want to switch to chemistry. I have a solid background of organic/inorganic/analytical/physical chemistry, took a grad quantum class and have a year of research. I switched to physics because I thought I wanted to be more "quantitative" but didn't know it was going to be *this* quantitative. All the math I've done will be used in chemistry and *no more*, which is the good part. I'll also be able to graduate earlier.