Is this an appropriate research question?

biggspc

Hi, I'm a sociology undergrad student who is considering writing an honors thesis. If I'm going to write it, my professor wants to know my research question by tomorrow. Last spring I researched the commodification of a traditional medicine product in a small village in asia. Would: 'What is the effect the commodification of (harvested product omitted) on economic restructuring in (village name omitted)?' be an appropriate research question. Does it have to be more specific than that? I'm not very experienced with research.

Hi there,

I don't think that's a bad research question...but I do question the scope of it for an undergraduate thesis. I think it's actually too big for even a PhD project. I think this is a good question, and you can bring it to your advisor for some direction as it does show where your interests are, but I would consider narrowing it down into something that you could complete within a year. Is there data already collected, or would you have to collect your own data? This is a major thing to think about, as data collection takes a LONG time (not to mention your REB application needs to be approved)...that doesn't mean that UGs can't do it, it just means that you have to consider your timeline, especially if you're looking to travel somewhere to do it- which I have not heard being done for UG. **If you are going to travel, you also have to think about funding and expenses, and additional time**.

If you're really interested in pursuing this question and further research work, perhaps doing a literature review around this topic would be better. You could get a really great foundational document that could supplement a graduate project.

Hi!