MFA for Abstract Painting

JustinjSmith

I know alot of the grad schools I want to apply to for next fall but I was wondering if anyone knew a maybe top 5-10 list of Abstract Painting programs or at least professors that do abstract work. So for I just have Long Beach State, Claremont, Columbia.

Need all the help I can get

Thanks

• 2 weeks later...

The short answer your question is that there are many, many good schools, and the only way to find out what is right for you is to look at faculty work. But I think you must determine what your goal in art is before you waste your time paying for and struggling with getting a Master of Fine Arts degree. It is the rare gallery or collector that cares what degrees you have.

_

Canvas Painting

• 2 weeks later...

I am a MFA student at Pratt in Painting/Drawing and I think Pratt is fantastic for abstract painters. Almost the entire painting faculty is comprised of abstract painters. And the painting profs are excellent, amazing really. Not only are the painting profs, but there are also a handful of great NY critics teaching at Pratt. That and there have been some abstract painters who have graduated from Pratt in the last couple of years (like Trudy Benson) for example who have done really well. I think that Pratt is really worth looking into. The school is amazing and the campus is incredible.

• 3 weeks later...

How do you guys feel about going to school away from the place you want to live/work as an artist?

I think this is crucial. You need to constantly challenge yourself. So pick a grad school different from your current environment, and IF you think you have an idea where you want to settle, you need to move there AFTER. If you're in the southeast and want to live the NYC artist life, go to grad school in L.A. If you're in NYC and want to come back, you owe it to yourself to experience something different. Go to Iowa.

• 3 weeks later...