Dropping Out?

ConfusedGrad1

I am considering dropping out of grad school, but was hoping to get opinions from people on whether or not I should, and also the best way to go about doing so.

So, some background information. I am in my first semester of a chemistry PhD program. I currently have tuition waived and a teaching assistantship. So far, the workload has been manageable. My main reason for wanting to quit is simply a lack of interest.

Even before attending, I was hesitant that going to grad school was the right thing for me to do. I’ve always enjoyed school and do well in it, so it seemed logical to apply for grad school. When I went to visit the schools I was accepted into is when I really started to get a feel for what grad school entailed. The degree of focus on research was very off-putting, and I was reluctant to even accept admission to anywhere. Despite this feeling, I did accept admission, figuring I could bear it, at least long enough to decide if it’s what I want to do.

I hated it as soon as I arrived; though this is my typical reaction to a new place and situation, so I figured I would give it more time until I could get adjusted. I feel like I’ve adjusted decently well. Most of the anxiety I felt when I first started is gone and I feel like I’m in a better state of mind to make a decision. But my decision hasn’t changed.

As I said earlier, most of this is about a lack of interest. I can’t get motivated about research, I have no particular research interests, and don’t really enjoy the academia environment. The prospect of doing new research and discovering new things does not excite me one bit. Even my classes, which I at least thought I would enjoy, are not engaging to me. To put it simply, I think I’ve grown tired of chemistry.