Weak freshman grades?

ProspectStu8735

I graduated from an Ivy with an average GPA, though I had very strong performance in my last couple of years.  I also took a lot of higher level courses and did exceptionally well in them.

A few more details:

I have very strong GREs (97th percentile verbal, also very strong in other sections), glowing letters of recommendation from well-known profs and several years of research experience.  I am worried that my weak earlier performance will hold me back from consideration at top 10 programs.  Do you guys have any thoughts?

Your GRE scores are really, really good, and if you finished strong, I think your chances are really good. From what I've heard (from professors) they are mostly concerned with your major grades and the last two years. Getting a D in some kind of required math or science course isn't going to hurt you. And you've done great things since then, so you've shown that you're capable of more than your freshman grades show. And, like everyone says, your letters of rec and writing sample count for much more than the numbers.

Thanks guys! I suppose the informal 3.5 gpa cutoffs have got me pretty worried, especially given that I have a humanities degree from a university known to have pretty heavy grade inflation. I was in the top 25% of my major class, but missed honors on a technicality. Alas.

If I get into a PhD program, that'll make up for it!

^^ not accurate.

You were admitted to a very prestigious institution... when you were 18. What you did for the four years following matters.

That said, I agree that your application overall is strong and that your weak freshman grades won't be held against you. I just disagree with losemygrip's assertion that where you went to school wholly trumps what you accomplished there.

• 2 weeks later...

^^ not accurate.

You were admitted to a very prestigious institution... when you were 18. What you did for the four years following matters.