Any advise of low verbal score

aaa57

I wish to apply for MS management science and engineering at Stanford. My background is electrical engineering and my GRE is Q 800 and V 330. Any idea how can I make my application strenghned? Is there any chance of getting admission? thanks for your help :)

I am really worried that the verbal score is too low to get you admission -- even as an international student. Do you know if they have any school-wide minimum?

Thanks for your replies, yes I'm international student I was waived of taking TOEFL again as I got a MS in electrical engineering from a canadian university. Yet I am disappointed with my GRE, verbal. Would this let them down? how low is acceptable for verbal?

I have to agree with emmm, I have a feeling your verbal score might be too low to gain admission even if everything else on your application was exceptional. To answer your above question, in some cases yes a high writing score can off-set a poor verbal score (I was told this by a prof on one of the adcoms last year), but that is usually if the verbal score is mediocre (say 500 range) not 300. If your programs require a writing sample, then make sure you send them an excellent one, and like one of the above posters said, make sure your LOR writers can vouch for your verbal skills.

Thanks for your reply, I am indeed practicing to take another GRE with its revised format. However, in the mock tests I am running out of time in verbal section--let's say 4 to 3 last questions--and the total estimated score is not good enough. It's really disapppointing for me. How could I improve this weakness in verbal? I greally appreciate any advices to upgrade my verbal skill.