Chances with bad science GPA but great psych GPA?

Rick120020

I'm currently a junior psychology major however I started as a biology premed major. I was in way over my head as I struggled with most science classes. I received two C's in Gen. chemistry, an F in organic chemistry and a W in calculus. During my sophomore year I took a psychology class and I loved it so I change my major. My gen Ed is a 4.0 and my major GPA right now is a 3.8. I have three years of research experience at my university, I have presented two posters at a conference and research forum, I have received supplemental NIH grant funding for my research. I do expect to have something published by the end of my senior year. I work with two PI's. One is a physician the other is a researcher with a PhD in clinical psychology. Although most of my research is medically geared I do provide a lot of emphasis on the psycholohical and social aspects of healthcare, treatment, and patients. Almost all the people I work with are either physicians or psychologist. I'm not sure this is relevant but I also design a low literacy educational program for people with certain illnesses which is targeted towards minorities. I'm now interested in clinical psychology and would like to earn a PhD in it. However, I'm not sure if I could get excepted into any programs. If I need to I can retake organic chemistry and have my old grade replaced. I only failed the course because I missed the final. So do I have a chance or should I just forget about it and try something else? Thanks!

Only you will know the answer once you try it out. Seems to me you've built up your experiences and research so that you could apply for a PhD program. Your credentials are research is outstanding given that you are still a Junior in your undergrad. Why not go for it and see what happens? You have nothing to lose, except for application fees and your time preparing them but the whole process will be a learning experience for you as well.