First Year PhD Experiences

fouler657

I'm currently just a few days away from finishing my first semester of my PhD program studying Political Science at a fairly highly ranked state university with an excellent placement record. I'm fully funded, and I was brought in to study under the department head who is a well-respected, excellently connected scholar in our field. I like the city where my university is located, I get along well with my cohort, and I'm doing pretty well in all my classes. All I've ever wanted to be is a professor, and everything seems to be on track for me to achieve that goal. There's just one problem. I really hate my program.

I know grad school is supposed to be grueling. I have my Master's degree in political science, so I already had a small taste of what grad school had to offer. I'd done my research and talked to a number of other grad students to try to get an idea of what it would be like, but I just was not prepared for how awful it would be.