Who Wants To Bet On Acceptances/Rejections?

It would only be with virtual "money." I have some strong intuitions on the outcomes for some of the regular posters on here. Of course, you can also bet on yourself. It should go like this: put down your GPA, GRE, Undergrad institution, and where you're applying, and we all get to make bets which places you'll get into, which places you won't.

It's not as if everyone isn't constantly obsessing over this anyway. I figure this might be a good way to let off some steam.

you get an upvote just for "PhD in Pretentious Bullshit"

love.

Thank you, I'll take 'em where I can get 'em.

I probably should have volunteered to go first: GPA 3.6; GREs 169V, 157M, 5AW; Undergrad @ Ivy number 4 (roughly).

Applied to: 4 Ivies, 2 top-ranked state schools, 2 non-Ivy top 10's

My own bet on myself: I'll get into 2 programs: The one where I'm doing my Master's, and one other. I don't know which. Maybe one of the state schools.

I actually kinda like this idea, but I don't want to post personal information about myself on a public forum. I can say this:

GPA: Not good, GRE: Not good, Institution: Not well known, doesn't even have PhD's program in any disciplines. Applying to programs that I'll never get into.

I actually kinda like this idea, but I don't want to post personal information about myself on a public forum. I can say this:

GPA: Not good, GRE: Not good, Institution: Not well known, doesn't even have PhD's program in any disciplines. Applying to programs that I'll never get into.

Ok rems, based entirely on this meager and vague information, I'm going to bet that you won't get into any programs. Your turn. You do me.

There are definitely a few other people from this forum that I would be very surprised to see get into any programs. In fact, I would bet good paper money on it. Who wants to go in $500 via paypal? That's enough for maybe 4 applications next year.

Edited by DontHate