If I cancel my interview, will I still be reimbursed for airfare?

grazzle

I'm about to go visit my top choice school. I'm 90% sure I will go here. The problem is that I have an interview scheduled for my second choice school in a couple weeks. I would rather not attend this interview. I'm not very good at faking enthusiasm and I'm worried that I would just appear unenthusiastic and tired and make the situation worse than if I just cancelled.

The problem is that I already bought my plane ticket, with the understanding that I would be reimbursed. It was a lot of money for me. Can I count on getting my money back if I politely cancel the interview? Is it possible to politely cancel the interview? I feel bad, like the money from the plane ticket came out of my POI's pocket-- but of course it didn't. He's a very nice person and we got along OK, I just don't want to waste his time and my time with an interview that is probably going nowhere.

...Probably not. I think the main criteria for reimbursement is that you do attend the interview, politeness doesn't really come into it. Cancelling the interview itself would be straightforward - just say you've decided to accept the offer from another institution. 

I'd just suck it up and attend the interview. At the very least it will give you a practice at faking enthusiasm - a useful skill in grad school...

I wouldn't count on it. To get reimbursed I always had to submit proof of expenses, including original ticket stubs and receipts. That aside, it's entirely unclear to me why you would expect a school to cover the cost of your canceled flight and decision to attend another school.

I would be embarrassed to attempt this. You should go to the interview, if only to network. You will probably encounter this professor or his graduate students at conferences and you will have already cleared the hurdle of introductions. Get used to traveling and meeting new people - it's  part of your new job description.