Not good enough

RxPhD

This is my first year in my PhD program and I'm finishing a doctorate in a health profession (dual degree).

Does anyone feel like they aren't good enough or capable of meeting the expectations of your advisor? I love my advisor and we are very close. I just don't want to let her down. She assures me I can do it but I doubt my ability.

The bar has been set high in my program and sometimes I feel like things are way over my head. I have plenty of support...I just don't feel smart/good enough to do all this!

It's making me very depressed and there is always SO MUCH TO DO! Anyone else ever have that drowning feeling?

Everyone feels that way at some point during their program.  I am a 5th year and I still grapple with trying to understand why my advisor thinks I'm a great student.  I feel lazy and not as productive as the scholar down the street (the theoretical one) who publishes 3 papers a year and dreams about data analysis.

And yes, I've definitely dealt with feeling like I was drowning in work.  It gets better over time - you learn to manage your time better, including learning to write in some relaxation time.  And you won't have courses.  Now, as a dissertator, I read for pleasure and go out with my friends and cook dinner most nights.  When I was in coursework - especially my first year - I felt like I was barely keeping my head above water.  Stay the course, and try your hand at scheduling your time and sticking to a (realistic) schedule.  Take note of how long it takes you to do things.