Political Science Help

Guest coolry

Guest coolry

Hello 

I am a college bound high school senior and am thinking of majoring in Political Science degree. I would like for someone with experience getting this degree to please answer the following:

1.) What experience or knowledge is required to do your job?

2.) What must you do each day?

3.)What type of projects, assignments or deadlines must you meet?

4.) What is the biggest challenge you have encountered?

In advance, thank you, and I appreciate your answers.

1. Do you want to be a prof? IF not, what are you going to do with a poli sci degree?

2. Study hard

3. Read textbooks, write papers

What are your goals, what do you want to do with it, what ranked school are you at? All of this matters

Hi! I am actually a current high school teacher and I am going back for my PhD this year. I have a BA and an MA in political science. I have quite a few students who are interested in the major and here's some advice I give them: 1. Before you get wrapped up in trying to figure out what you are exactly going to do, you need to take some intro classes in college and decide if it's really what interests you. 2. If you want to do any sort of social science (history, PoliSci, etc.,) plan on going to grad school. I wish I would've went straight through to the phd, instead of doing the MA separately 3. As far as jobs, you will most likely end up teaching in some capacity. However, there are government jobs out there. I suggest you really polish your foreign language skills, if you're interested in comparative or Internatioal relations, or becoming acquainted with research methodology. 4. Plan to research, read an write. I don't know what high school you're graduating from, but as a teacher, I don't think we emphasize that enough on the high school level. I think it's great you're considering a PoliSci major! I know I didn't answer your exact questions, but if you want to talk more, feel free to message me with any question