Changing (PhD) majors in graduate school?

Hi everyone. I'm a little new to gradcafe so I'm not sure if this is the right category to post in but here it goes. 

I recently matriculated into a materials science and engineering phd program and will be starting this fall. I'm planning to do research in nanoscale electronic materials and devices for microelectronics. I've recently been looking more in depth into the department and it turns out most of the professors are focused on solar research. I consulted some grad student friends about this. They said there are also electrical engineering profs doing research I'm interested in and recommended me to contact them to set up an interdepartmental collaboration. But, looking deeper into the program, I realized that working with a group in the EE department and switching majors completely may suite me better. 

My question is it uncommon to switch majors while in graduate school? For my case, I would probably take classes from MSE and EE either way and would most likely to fulfill the course requirements for either degree (my research in very interdisciplinary and course requirements for both majors are very flexible). However, it would probably be more helpful to my research if I took more EE classes. Thanks everyone for your help! 

Not uncommon at all. I did it, and it usually isn't a big deal. Once you're in, you're usually in (does that make sense?)

I see that you're not even matriculated yet. I wouldn't rush things. Just get in, maybe go a semester, and see how things go (especially since there's overlap). Things always make more sense and are clearer on the inside!

It's interesting, I was getting ready to post the opposite thing. 

From what I understand, you're in one department (Materials Engineering) and want to transfer to another department (Electrical Engineering)?

Or maybe I misunderstood, and both are different concentrations under the same department?