Trying to determine if I am ready to apply directly to PhD programs

babubot

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the forum, but I will probably be around quite a bit now that I am preparing to apply for grad school for Fall 2014. I'll also hope to answer some questions because I work in my schools graduate admissions office, but that is another matter.

I am a mechanical engineering undergrad interested in pursuing a PhD in the robotics field (Mechanical engineering in a lot of schools, CS at others). I have a pretty good idea of what area I would want to focus my research on, but I am not sure if I have a chance at getting accepted in the schools I am interested in, primarily because I don't have any publications or an undergrad thesis. Here's what my profile looks like:

UG Major: MechE

Minor: CompSci, Math

University: Large state university ranked ~60 in my field

GPA: 3.9+/4

GRE: Q170, V169, 4.0 (Still have no idea how I pulled this off. It is significantly higher than my practice scores and I was working on very little sleep)

Will have 2 years of research experience by the time I graduate, but I have not published anything yet which from browsing around seems to be a requirement for top programs/PhD. I expect to be submitting a couple papers as an undergrad, but it will be too late to be part of my application.

I should have two strong letters from the professors I do research with, but I still don't know who to ask for a third.

EDIT: Forgot to mention, I had a research internship at NASA, but I didn't have the best relationship with my mentor and it isn't in the field I am interested in continuing with, so I don't think it will help very much.