Unfunded PhD?

robhat

Hi! I'm an international student who is starting with his PhD this fall. I'm really worried because I was initially told (not promised and nothing on paper) that all students get TA's initially and then get RA's beginning second year. Now I'm told that because of the cut in the federal funding, I won't be getting funded my first year and come second year, the professor I decide to work with 'might' fund me. This is really bothering me.

I'm a graduate from an Ivy League school with a Masters degree, I had a pretty decent job with my employer willing to sponsor my work visa before I decided to let it all go and just go for the opportunity to be back in school again. I'm helpless now since I have given up the privilege to work so I can only 'study' if I want to be in US. And with my specialized research, opportunities back home are next to none.  I have to cough up the money for which I was not prepared for, gather loans and shit to attend this school. I feel PhD is more of a curse rather than a new chapter and it hasn't even started yet. 
Probably not the best of mindsets to have when entering a PhD, but all this pandemonium is getting to me.  

Without digressing further, what I wanted to know was - "Are unfunded PhD's common?"; "Can I expect to be funded soon?";
"Is it worth it?", etc.

Best
RSB

"Are unfunded PhD's common?" No. As far as I know, most PhDs are funded, while there is substantially less funding for MA students. The thought is that an MA prepares you for a professional career where you will earn enough to cover your education, while a PhD is more of an academic training (not debating the logic of this thought nor the practicality of it).