2014 Applicants

MattDest

I've been browsing this forum since July or so. I've been fretting for a really long time but there's barely any activity around here. It's odd, but I think we'll see a rise in posters in the next few months. Glad to see you're wearing your application stats on your sleeves though. I'll update some of my info as well. It's relieving to see what other people are up to.

I've always appreciated when others have been transparent about their stats, especially when reporting admission decisions. It makes it easier on future applicants, and provides people with a good idea about what places their application might be competitive. I completely agree that it's nice to see what others are up to. Cheers!

• 2 weeks later...

Here goes: 

I graduated Magna cum Laude (3.53), Phi Betta Kappa from a big state school in 2011. I completed my masters this year at a large European University. MA GPA: 4.00, one conference presentation, a recent book review published in a so-so international journal. Writing sample will be a shrunken, contained portion of my MA thesis which received a high mark. I anticipate my letters to be quite strong. I did a fair amount of networking while in Europe, especially with American scholars that spoke at/visited my University, which is known for its vibrant visiting lecturer series. Taking the GRE in two weeks. 

Interested in Kant, German Idealism, and the Frankfurt School (esp. Adorno). Systematic areas of interest fall in moral philosophy, metaethics (esp. the metaphysics of freedom and agency), philosophy of action generally, and contemporary epistemology. 

I'm applying to around 10-12 programs. Two of which are in Leiter's top 10 (Columbia and Yale). The rest fall around 20-35 on his list (one is unranked). Lastly, I am still toying with the idea of applying to a couple British/Irish Universities.

Edited by STM17