Quantitative Psychology / Educational Measurement Fall 2014 SOP help

karen1204

Hi everyone,

I am applying applying to Quantitative Psychology and Educational Psychology programs which offer a Quantitative Methods concentration. The schools I will be applying to are UC Berkeley, UCLA, USC,

UC Riverside, UI- Chicago, University of Washington - Seattle, Fordham University, Rutgers - New Brunswick, and CUNY Graduate Center (but for CUNY this will be I/O Psych, because I've been working with a professor in Baruch for almost two years and got familiar with the program).

I have a BA in psych, have 2+ years of research experience, worked on 3 projects ( 1 of which was my own independent project as part of NSF's REU program), was a TA for an undergrad psych stats course for one semester, audited for a doctoral level Psychometrics course, and have job experience working with youth. My mentor has stated that my experience should give me a good shot at in applying to quant programs.

However, I'm worried about my chance in these programs, mainly because I do not have an extensive math or stats background. I am stuck right now at writing up a strong statement of purpose, because I don't know how broad or specific I should define my research interests. My mentor says given that I do not have a math or stats background, the grad admission committee should understand, and that I can broadly define my research interests. My interest in statistics developed when I was a TA for psych stats. But undergrad stats only taught up to ANOVA, linear regression, and chi square. I am currently learning advanced stats tests on my own, like logistic regression and factor analysis. i have a book that teaches me stats using SPSS and the R.