LOR input

Like everyone else I am up to my neck in grad school applications. I swear its a full time job itself, lol! Background:

3.6/3.7 GPA

taking GRE in a few weeks

Nontraditional student (married w/2 kids)

I have my letters of recommendation in the works but I had an idea and wanted some input. I have been a massage therapist for the past 12 years and have recently startied exploring any potential crossover into the field of speech. I have several clients that have been with me for years and I was thinking of asking one of them (CEO, Ivy League educated) to write a letter on my behalf from the side of a patient. He can't speak of my academic ability which is really the point but since I have those covered, I thought this might be a ice addition...kind of thinking outside the box.

Yes/no? Thoughts?

I say no. I've probably gone through more than 50 websites while doing my research and most schools prefer recommendations from faculty members--basically people who can talk about your academic potential.

Good luck! :)  

Sorry to hijack this thread, but I have a question about LOR as well.  After my undergrad program, I completed a (pretty unique) volunteer teaching program where I taught two years in the inner-city and was able to get my Masters at Northwestern on scholarship.  I had one of my supervisors write a LOR for me so that he could explain about the program and sing my praises. :)  I wanted him to write me a letter because I feel like that experience sets me apart from other candidates; however, I also had two "normal" professors write me LORs as well.  Do you think schools will look down on me having a non-academic recommender?