Social Science Grading

I'm an undergraduate taking a quantitative methods graduate course in sociology. My understanding is that in graduate humanities fields, an A represents "You're doing what you're supposed to," an A- represents concerns, and a B+ or below indicates you should reinvent yourself or leave. In graduate STEM fields, however, B-range grades are both common and acceptable, and coursework is even seen as a distraction from research ("If you're getting all As, you should be in the lab more.").

I haven't been able to find much about grading in social sciences, however. I'm doing well in the class, but I was curious to better understand what grades mean and how they might be perceived by graduate programs. I'm also hesitant to ask the instructor questions how I compare to other students in the class or what the grade mean because I don't want to seem to focused on grading.

My understanding is that in graduate humanities fields, an A represents "You're doing what you're supposed to," an A- represents concerns, and a B+ or below indicates you should reinvent yourself or leave. In graduate STEM fields, however, B-range grades are both common and acceptable, and coursework is even seen as a distraction from research ("If you're getting all As, you should be in the lab more.").

Eh… not quite. An overall GPA of a 3.0 is the threshold in my department for being allowed to graduate. A lot of grading is based on participation & writing, which can be hard to quantify; if you do the reading, you should have a lot to contribute to discussions & a lot to say in papers. In many instances, it's less about "wrong" or "right," because they're vague concepts; rather, the focus is on encouraging the incorporation of major theories & thinking creatively. The seemingly "lenient" grading may simply be a byproduct of the sources of grades.