advice for applications?

clinpsych

Hi everyone,

Recently found this board and looking for advice from those who are applying, or have in the past, to clinical programs. I am planning to apply this fall, but I think one thing is holding me back: GRE scores. Some background: I have 3 years of RA experience at an Ivy league university, plus 1 year of research coordinating experience which has resulted in 4 publications, all in high-impact journals in psychiatry, with another soon to be submitted. I have a 3.91 undergrad GPA and 3.94 GPA from current master's program, both majors are psychology. The first time I took GREs, scores were 510 V 650 Q 4.5 AW; enough to get into a competitive MA program but no PhD programs the first time I applied (granted I only applied to 2; this was before I had any publications as well). Took them again this week and scores are 162 V, 152 Q, still waiting on AW. Is this a huge hurdle? I know Q scores seem to be more important to programs. Not making any excuses; I know I could have done better on the GRE, and given my GPAs, I hope that programs will see that my grades are a reliable and consistent indicator of academic achievement and future success. Should I address this in my personal statement?

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

@PsychCT..."4 publications, all in high-impact journals in psychiatry" after you apply and get in, can I have your research coordinator job ;)? I would KILL for your background.

Have you checked out average GRE scores for your programs? How far away are you? You may not be as off as you think. As long as your scores are "good enough" to make the cut, the rest of your profile will make up for it.

Ha! Thank you, that made my day. I honestly work for an amazing PI who understands "the struggle" and is very proud of getting his former RAs/RCs into doctorate programs. If I do get in, there will definitely be a spot open - hopefully this works out for both you and me ;)