Should I just wait it out and try next year?

Oncobench.Hege

I'm so undetermined with myself I can't think straight.

I want to start grad school as soon as possible because I want to get to where I need to before its too late for me. There are many people my age (24) and in my field that are already where I want to be in next couple of years.

My delema is my GPA and GRE scores. They are low and I have no research experience. I'm so busy with working two jobs I can't find the time or energy to work on apps.

Should I just wait out another year and work on my network instead so that I have a better chance? Or just apply now and see where it gets me? I don't think I can afford the application fees if I don't get into anything (not making much after survival expenses) and I guess I would just feel like I'm running behind if I do wait.

Am I procrastinating? Or am I thinking rationally?

Are either of your jobs related to the field you want to study for your PhD? If so, you can talk about those in your app. No need to feel rushed! And don't worry to much about getting anywhere by a certain age. I'm applying to PhD programs this year and I'm 28 and while I have friends who are well into (and some already out of) their graduate school careers, I don't regret the time I spent working at all - in fact, in my applications I'm talking about my teaching experience as something unique that I'll bring to the departments I'm applying to.