achilles heel

philstudent1991

What do you guys think the biggest weakness of your application is? For me it's gotta be pedigree (I'm at a big state school with no PhD program).

Oh.. dropping out of my last MFA program and setting the bridge on fire shortly thereafter.

GPA and maybe letters of recommendation. I have a few B+s that really worry me.  Also, because I studied abroad for a year, I only have a few multi year relationships with professors. 

Oh--and CV! I have like nothing to put on my CV.

Edited by Philhopeful

GPA, GRE, Lack of Grad Work, Publications, Conferences. I worked a lot while an undergrad, and took less work that a lot of people and still barely had time to complete it. I never got to go to confrences or submit papers because if I missed work I couldn't pay rent. I was depressed/stressed by some personal stuff one semester and it was the only semester I got less than a 4.0. I have a W from my penultimate semester in a English class that I clashed with the teacher on and would've gotten a C in, because he literally hated my work and my opinions on the subject.

I suck at math, and I never really took it in Highschool (I was 'religiously homeschool for my life until college) or college, so my math Gre score is pitifully low, though my Verbal and Writing are both strong.

But my letters are good, I won an award for being the best student at a mid-range research university out of like 100 other phil majors. My writing sample is one of the best my faculty advisory for the independent study I originally wrote it in has seen from an undergrad. People know my letter writers, who aren't famous in their fields, but they are well-know (and active in analytic philosophy. So I have that going for me. Honestly, I'm already ready for not getting in anywhere knowing what I'm competing against.