GRE, the agonizing journey ...

Amstlight

Today I've taken this dreadful exam for the 3rd time.

GRE scores so far:

1st attempt - V156, Q158, AWA 5

2nd attempt - V155, Q156, AWA 4.5

3rd attempt - V159, Q159, AWA (hoping for at least 5)

To recap - for the first attempt, I studied about 10 days in total, used Manhattan, Kaplan, Barron & ETS. For the 2nd attempt, I took a few months, prepared systematically; used Magoosh a lot, did all their quant questions, had an estimate of 159-164, but ended with 156, big shame! the day really went awful...

Now for the 3rd attempt, for quant I still used Magoosh and other resources that I found on google - there were a few topics I could not find any satisfactory materials on either Magoosh or any other test prep providers.

Manhattan practice test scores -

Test 1 - 164Q

Test 2 - 166Q

Test 3 - 166Q

Magoosh test scores

Test 1 - 164Q

Test 2 - 167Q

Test 3 - 167Q

Test 4 - 165Q

Magoosh quantitative estimate on dashboard 162-167...

Now the interesting bit:

I never prepared for AWA and verbal because I simply did not care about my verbal scores.

Especially today I was baffled to see my new verbal score of 159 with zero preparation ( I am not a native English speaker). It also hurt big time given the effort I put in the quant prep. Identical scores were the least I expected. I was hoping for a 163-165 range in the quant but this score continues to elude me.