Master's programs in Eastern Orthodoxy?

Jonjae

Hello, all!

I'm new around here, but I'm thrilled to have found Gradcafe! I am a junior undergrad student studying Ancient/Biblical Languages and Early Christianity. I've been trying to find suitable grad programs for the past year. I've recently narrowed down my field to studies in Eastern Orthodox theology and writings. However, I'm starting to wonder if it's too narrow of a field... (I hope not!). I've read several posts on Early Christianity and Historical Theology programs, but they aren't super relevant to what I'm aiming for.

I would like to ask for some schools and big names in my field. So far I've tracked down (outside of actual Orthodox seminaries) GTU's Eastern Orthodox MA and Oxford's Eastern Christian Studies. I'm a little daunted by both, so I'd like a few more options for when I apply next year (I would like to begin grad school Fall 2015). I'm also aware of John McGuckin at UTS, but I'm not sure of my fit at Union.

Thank you for your time!

One more thing: I'm looking to ultimately pursue a PhD in Eastern Orthodox Studies. A few UK schools are viable options for the PhD (D.Phil), but I'm not sure where else. Advice on doctorate programs would be greatly appreciated as well!

Hi and welcome! Eastern Orthodox types often disguise themselves in other areas, so someone who looks like a church historian or medievalist may have a specialization as a byzantinist, or someone who works in contemporary theology may be an expert in Schmemann or similar. If you want to limit yourself to a degree in Eastern Orthodox studies, you will have only a few options. If you're willing to look for experts in your chosen area regardless of department or degree name, the you will have many more options.

So, what area of Eastern Orthodox studies? If you can tell us a bit about your more specific interests, we might be able to point you towards places and people who work in the specific area :)