Low GPA, best course of action?

snk24

I, like so many others, didn't really take my studies seriously at first. When I first started my degree, I majored in something I had absolutely no interest in because I thought it would land me a good job. I hated every minute of it and it showed in my GPA. After 3 years of struggling, my GPA was ABYSMAL. After changing my major to psychology and discovering how much I loved it and how interesting it was to me, my GPA rose.

This puts me in the following spot:

Cumulative GPA: 2.86

Psychology GPA: 3.91

I don't have research experience or publications, so I know I have virtually zero shot of getting into a clinical doctorate at this point. However, I graduated university debt free and am not adverse to doing an unfunded master's degree (though, I'd prefer a funded one!) Is this the best course of action, to focus solely on master's programs? I've not taken the GRE, so I can't speculate on what my score might be, though I do have plenty of time to dedicate to study. Would it help if I took the psychology GRE subject test? I'm guessing it wouldn't make a difference since I have a breadth of upper-division psychology courses on my transcript and my psychology GPA is quite high.

To get into a reputable grad program (MA/MS or PhD), you need to take the GRE. You can try for a Master's program, but with a GPA of <3.0, it's going to be tough; you'd need to ace the GREs. A Psychology GRE score will not strengthen your app at places that say they don't look at the Psych GRE; really, Universities that say they don't look at the Psych GRE mean just that.

I do think a Master's will be the best route, with a few caveats: it will need to be from a solid brick-and-mortar University, not online; and you need to do a Thesis, to get hands-on research experience.A solid grad GPA and research experience can help mitigate the low undergrad GPA if you choose to apply to PhD programs once you have a Master's degree.