PhD from a great school without scholarship or PhD from an okay school with scholarship?

trileysm

Hello all,

So I am currently in the first year of my PhD in Anthropology at the University of Sussex.  The school is really good for anthropology and I have a well-known supervisor.  I am from California and did my BA and Masters in London (Master's at LSE).  I came to Sussex thinking I would find some funding here, but I was wrong.  Now it looks like I may be offered funding at a German university, which is less well-known.

I was looking forward to the degree subject there, but it seems like the funding would require that my degree is actually Media Studies (something that I am not so keen on- I have an IR/Development background and want to stay in Anthropology/Sociology).  Plus I don't really want to uproot my girlfriend and I to go to a tiny town in Germany where her job prospects will be less.  I know I could stay here at Sussex but I would probably be another $30,000 in debt by the time the degree is over, maybe less if I keep my annoying bar job.  In Germany, I wouldn't pay tuition and get around $1500 a month.  I know that this makes Germany the obvious choice, but I am just curious about my future prospects.  If I am sacrificing my life here in the UK, I want to know that 3 years at a lower-ranking German university is worth it, or if my PhD will not be as valuable.

If anyone has any advice, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!

T

Do you guys think the subject of the PhD matters? I really planned on Anthropology rather than Media.  My project would stay the same, just my methodology would change a bit.