Maybe (probably) someone has started a discussion like this before but I was wondering how you guys evaluate "fit." I know that it's a big thing but to be honest, it's hard for me to judge that about myself. I kinda had to use other criteria as I was narrowing down my choices, such as, do they require me to do a TOEFL test since I'm an international student and English is not my first language. The GRE has a verbal part anyway and so I picked schools that waive the TOEFL requirement because I have an American M.A.

Apart from that, I'm focusing on American Romanticism and 19th century American lit in general, and basically every uni has at least a couple of people who work in that field. If I get in I assume I'll do my own thing so I looked for a diverse faculty that might be able to give me input, but you can basically find that anywhere. Also they tend to have a similar voice on their website (some are better at it or more elaborate, but still...) so I'm mythed as to how you evaluate your fit.

I picked schools that waive the TOEFL requirement because I have an American M.A . . .

Apart from that, I'm focusing on American Romanticism and 19th century American lit in general, and basically every uni has at least a couple of people who work in that field. If I get in I assume I'll do my own thing so I looked for a diverse faculty that might be able to give me input, but you can basically find that anywhere. Also they tend to have a similar voice on their website (some are better at it or more elaborate, but still...) so I'm mythed as to how you evaluate your fit.

My impression was that you don't need the TOEFL if you have a university degree from an English speaking country.