Sharing a hotel room with significant other

gerbils

This is mostly a question for people who have had experience with interview/recruitment weekends.

I have an interview for a PhD program at a school across the country. They are covering my hotel and transportation. I live with my long-term boyfriend who has booked tickets to check out the area at the same time. The current plan is for him to stay in the hotel with me. As far as I know I am not sharing a hotel room with other interviewees (plans would obviously change if this were the case).

My question is: will this setup reflect poorly on me if it's known about? Will the school be upset? I am wondering how discreet I should be when handling this situation. I don't want to give the impression that I am mooching off the school or hotel, but it's not financially reasonable for him to pay for a separate hotel unless absolutely necessary.

Specific questions: How much time is spent interacting with other candidates at the hotel? If I get interview questions about my readiness to move: I feel that him visiting demonstrates my pragmatism when it comes to moving my life cross country, but would it be risky to mention this in an interview if asked? Should I inform the hotel that he will be there also or will that incite complications?

Thanks in advance for help!

I am a masters student, applying for phd admission for next fall. I havent been through the whole phd process yet but here is my opinion:

I think it is absolutely fine for you to bring him and have him stay with you. Remember that these schools are trying to convince you to come as much as you are trying to get accepted. If he will be moving to the new location with you then he also needs to checkout the area. I will bring my husband to some interviews with me next year.