Help me understand the US tax and insurance system

Hi everyone,

I'm an international student hoping to do a PhD in the US soon. I have, however, trouble understanding the US tax and insurance system. It seems like my TAship and stipend will be taxed, but how do I find out the rates?

Also, which insurance schemes are necessary (I'm thinking liability insurance etc.) to live in the US, and where could I purchase these?

Lastly, if I wanted to start saving up for retirement, how would I go about doing that? I'd like to compare US rates to those in my country, as I have no idea where I want to end up.

Thanks in advance,

IRToni

There are two ways your income can be taxed in the US, more or less:

1. "Payroll taxes" - these are taken out of each paycheck and add up to 6% of your paychecks. One part goes to Medicare, insurance for seniors, and the other part goes to Social Security, which is fixed income for seniors.

You will not pay payroll taxes on your stipend under most circumstances. This is a good thing for the most part, other than that you won't be eligible to receive Social Security if you naturalize and retire here without eventually paying payroll taxes. If you work in the USA, you'll begin paying into those and you'll have nothing to worry about.

2. You have the standard income tax. This is something you'll file after the end of the calendar year with the federal government (the so-called "Internal Revenue Service" or IRS). Some of your benefits will be taxable. What you won't include in your taxable income is tuition waivers or other portions of your stipend used for tuition. Certain other costs can be exempted from taxes, most notably things like textbooks -- the rule here is that it must be required of all students in the course. So books, computers, etc. you might buy for general research will not be exempted.