Princeton 2014

Bleep_Bloop

Hey LKS! Haven't committed yet, but I'm thinking of accepting an offer in CS (PhD). I was a local student in undergrad, such that I never had the chance ( :-Pof living in dorm housing. I may apply for a single room in GC for the first year, but I would also be interested in hearing advice (housing or otherwise) from current students.

Edited by gorki

Cool! I spent most of my undergrad in dorms and while I have fond memories, the idea of going back to the lifestyle after a period of independent living isn't very appealing (mostly the idea of having to share a bathroom with a floor of people and having to eat in a cafeteria). But I've committed (to a phd program, if that makes any difference in the housing process?) and can only hope for the best in the housing lottery, since I was told that off-campus living isn't really an option.

Hey Manifestin,

Congratulation on the fellowship! I will be attending the computer science visit day next week (5-6), although that might be distinct from the mech-a engineering one. Aren't you two afraid of missing out on the student community ( :rolleyes:) by living out of GC? 

Hey Manifestin,

Congratulation on the fellowship! I will be attending the computer science visit day next week (5-6), although that might be distinct from the mech-a engineering one. Aren't you two afraid of missing out on the student community ( :rolleyes:) by living out of GC? 

Thanks, gorki! I will be on campus actually on March 13-14 for MAE visit day. I plan to live in GC since it is part of the conditions of the offer for residency requirement. But, I will get to see my family during the weekends!

• 3 weeks later...

Doesn't the residency requirement just mean that you have to live on campus/in the Princeton area, not necessarily in the GC?