Where to start researching about grad school?

ehershey

Hello, I am currently a junior in my undergraduate studies about to enter my senior year in the next few months.

When applying for undergrad I felt like there were so many different resources for research on schools. I check some resources at school but nothing really helped me more than my college's graduate school but they don't have the program I am interested in. I was wondering when you started researching where do you start your research?

I am currently studying communication and would like to pursue a degree in higher ed or student affairs. I've been involved in everything student affairs offers at our school and would love to spend my life helping students have the same experience that I had through all of my advisors and bosses.

If anyone has any advice please let me know! Thank you.

Now is a good time to start looking, as you'll be applying this fall. I Google'd graduate schools higher education and Autocomplete figured out what I wanted real quick. Not sure if accreditation is a huge deal in your field or not; if it is, check out listings through accrediting bodies. 

I knew what kind of program I was interested in, so I started there. I also went to my favorite undergrad professors and asked them for advice on where the best programs were, and what I should be doing to get ready for the application process. They were hands down the best resource!

- Ask your professors who they recommend based on what they know of your interests. Having that recommendation does a long way. So far, the 2 grad programs I've been accepted to are the ones that my undergrad mentor referred me to. 

- Who are the authors of your favorite books, journal articles, etc, in your field? Start looking them up and see if they have grad programs at their universities.