Lit majors: Can you send me a reading list of commonly read books in grad school?

I'm currently an undergrad at Northwestern. I'll be getting my BA in Lit Studies next month. WOOT WOOT! :D

I'm starting my PhD in September, a PhD in American Lit Studies. I want to spend my summertime preparing for graduate school. Is there a list of comparative literary readings that I should become well-acquainted with? Or what are your recommendations?

Thanks! :)

I'm currently an undergrad at Northwestern. I'll be getting my BA in Lit Studies next month. WOOT WOOT! :D

I'm starting my PhD in September, a PhD in American Lit Studies. I want to spend my summertime preparing for graduate school. Is there a list of comparative literary readings that I should become well-acquainted with? Or what are your recommendations?

Sorry, I meant MA, not BA. I was lucky to have gotten my MA at the same school where I got my BA. Maybe that's why I didn't get into their PhD program? :(

Not to sound rude, but if you're going into a doctoral program you should probably have a good idea already of what you want to/need to read. I'm sure you applied with a series of interests that is more specific than American lit; try following them for reading specific to your research interests. 

You could also check different departments for General and Qualifying exam lists. I know that Northwestern, Columbia, and Stanford post them online. Additionally, some are available through the Berkeley English graduate site. 

That being said, I do think that if you don't have any idea as to what you might need or want to read come September, you're going to have trouble. Graduate sites post all sorts of course syllabi and reading lists—they fact that you haven't found them yet suggests that you didn't research programs properly.