Merced, CA

commoner

I'm curious about this school because it is nearby (yes, I'm thinking about next year already). Anyone out there know anything about their World Cultures Am. Lit program? I can't find any info other than what the school supplies, which is also very limited.

• 1 year later...

I know - where the hell is Merced? It's in the heartland of california, 2 hours from everything awesome. Yosemite, santa cruz, san francisco, carmel, and any number of nice places are close by.

Some of the top scientists in the country and being tempted away from their home universities by UC Merced. As one of the very few grad students here, I thought I'd open up the discussion for questions like...

Where is Merced?

What is campus like?

and

Are you crazy?

• 1 month later...

Hi,I'm an international student planning to apply the graduate program in Humanities.So,How is the Arts doctoral program in Merced?

financial aid enough to cover the tuitions and expenses? since you mentioned the number of students are small ,so,Much to do for recreation or sports ?

• 2 weeks later...
  • 1 year later...

I have never been to Merced, and do not mean to hijack the thread, but the book "The Spirit Catches You then You Fall Down" by Ann Fadiman was written about a Hmong family living in Merced. A great read and it gives a little background on the area. Sorry I have so little to offer.

I know - where the hell is Merced? It's in the heartland of california, 2 hours from everything awesome. Yosemite, santa cruz, san francisco, carmel, and any number of nice places are close by.

Some of the top scientists in the country and being tempted away from their home universities by UC Merced. As one of the very few grad students here, I thought I'd open up the discussion for questions like...

Where is Merced?

What is campus like?

and

Are you crazy?