Why universities shouldn't hire their own graduates

May_Me_D

I'm currently a grad student in the process of obtaining my Master's in Counselor Education. I'm a good student, I enjoy the subject matter, and strongly feel that I will one day make a great counselor. However, I'm very disappointed with the program I'm in so much so that I'm considering dropping out.

In particular, I am having a lot of difficulty with this one professor. She got both her Master's & PhD from the same university she is now teaching at, and the program I'm enrolled in. Unfortunately, my advisor was her mentor, and I'm guessing that he likely helped her get hired. I really don't know who to talk to about the issues I'm having with her. I'm frustrated because I'm only a year into the program, and will have to take several more classes from her.

If I do drop out, I plan on writing a letter to both the Department Chair and President of the University addressing the ethical aspects of having hired this woman in the first place. After all, they have plenty of other students graduating with their PhD's from this program. Why should this professor have been given preference in the hiring process? Also, wouldn't "hiring their own" limit diversity and thereby impact the services they're offering students?

If anyone has any advice on this issue, I'd greatly appreciate it. 

I'm currently a grad student in the process of obtaining my Master's in Counselor Education. I'm a good student, I enjoy the subject matter, and strongly feel that I will one day make a great counselor. However, I'm very disappointed with the program I'm in so much so that I'm considering dropping out.