Problems with LOR writer after acceptance

kungfuupanda

I'm currently in a difficult situation and would some feedback from fellow graduate students

I was accepted into grad school for fall 2014. This is something I have been working for the past four years and when I undertook a research position three years ago, I was upfront with my boss(LOR writer) that I was planning to go to grad school. He was very supportive and gave me many opportunities to get valuable experience in my field and I was able to get a paper published in the topic I wanted to pursue in grad school. This year I finally decided to apply and he told me he was happy to write my letter for me but that he thought I wouldn't be able to get in so soon because my undergrad marks were subpar. I ended up getting in and since then, his attitude towards me has changed. All of a sudden my research projects have been put on hold. My drafts on my current studies have not been returned to me after three months. I've been assigned to fill out paperwork, file, organize etc. When I ask him about the project progress, he gets upset and tells me that I need to learn to work on other tasks. He also frequently emails me and tell me I haven't done tasks which were actually emailed to him weeks prior. My colleagues suggest that I should quit but I only have a few more months before my contract is over. The lab is more tense as he yells at me in front of the other members.

Im not sure what happened. I don't want to burn bridges and I know I owe him for giving me a headstart on my cv and writing my LOR. However the situation is getting increasingly worse as I cannot take the constant blame for things out of my control. I'm not sure if I should just tough it out. Not sure what the ramifications would be if I gave him my notice to leave. I would also like my last few months before grad school to be a relaxed time.

Anyone ever had a similar situation? What did you do?