Choosing a recommendation letter writer.

L13

EDIT: Let me preface the wall of text below with the warning that this thread solicits advice. It only occurred to me after posting that laying out one's personal story in some detail and expecting people to opine on what one should do next is not common practice in this subforum. I'm sorry if this thread violates the history subforum's posting etiquette/wastes people's time/whatever. Maybe there's a better place for my question?

ANYWAY. On to the issue:

I'm a rising senior in college, I intend to apply to programs in history in the fall, and I'm looking for advice on whom to approach for a letter of recommendation.

I know most history programs in the US require three letters, and I think I've got the first two writers locked down. They're both professors who have known me since I was a freshman, and I've done well in their classes. I haven't asked either of them for a letter yet, but given that they have acted as mentors to me in different capacities, and have shown real interest in my academic development, I think/hope they will readily agree to write on my behalf--and may in fact be expecting me to ask. I'm waiting until the beginning of the year before I make the request because I want to do it in person. If I talk to them at the end of August, they will have a little over three months to write their letters, which I think is reasonable enough. (However, if any of you think I should email them right now, I'd be interested in hearing your reasoning. Be aware that one of these professors, while very dear to me, is not particularly good at answering her email over the summer, which is partly why I want to talk to her face to face.)

Now.